BALTIMORE CITY ARCHIVES
(Baltimore City Firefighters Monument Committee)
Baltimore established a paid fire department in 1858. Since that time thousands of firefighters have served protecting the property and lives of the citizens of Baltimore. Over one-hundred firefighters have lost their lives in the performance of their duties.
The idea of a monument to Baltimore's firefighters originated as the result of the devastating Hochschild Kohn Building fire on February 17, 1983. Shortly after the fire Roy F. Kirby, a successful contractor, approached the Baltimore City Fire Department about honoring the city's firefighters. Subsequently, a committee was formed in January 1984 to explore the possibility of erecting a monument to Baltimore's firefighters, past, present and future.
These are the meeting minutes of that committee. The minutes cover the time period January 1984 to February 1990. Topics discussed include fundraising activities; selection of and negotiations with the sculptor; the sculptor's estimate; the contract; the budget; contributors; press releases; expenditures; progress reports; and other related matters.
The 8 feet high, 900 pound bronze statue of a firefighter in action was sculpted by Baltimorean Tylden Street. It was unveiled on April 19, 1990 and is located on the grounds of Fire Department Headquarters at Lexington and Gay Streets.